I hope I’m not being prematurely optimistic, but there seems to be a concerted effort at The Athenaeum to restore our Catholic identity after the desacralizing ravages of the Bernardin-Pilarczyk era. I am referring specifically to an article in the new issue entitled “The Challenge of Christian Witness,” which describes in detail the remodeling of the Immaculate Conception Chapel in the East Wing, and the purposes behind it. The article very lovingly details the design, art and iconography of the redesigned chapel, with particular emphasis on the prayer and adoration which it intends to evoke as a vital element in priestly formation.

Two things in particular caught my eye: one, that the new altar is still pretty much a Novus Ordo table (though I could be accused of nit-picking here), and two, the new inscription over the entrance, which reads:

“Introibo ad altare Dei. Ad Deum quo laetificat juventutem meam.” (I will go in unto the altar of God. To God Who giveth joy to my youth.)

This prayer, of course, begins the Traditional Mass, and is the first Prayer at the Foot of the Altar – one of the many prayers missing in the Missal of Paul VI, thanks to the liturgical cleansing of suspected Freemason Bugnini and his six Protestant advisers.

http://www.athenaeum.edu/pdf/athenaeummagazine_spr2012.pdf

(See esp. pp 3 and 5).

