‘Was in downtown Louisville for business last night and noticed a couple of amusing Catholic things. The first was a gaggle of senior citizens standing on the steps of the Cathedral of the Assumption holding camera-ready signs reading, “We are all nuns.” This ontologically confused effort was a protest of the Holy See’s long-overdue censure of what’s left of women religious orders in the United States. I couldn’t help but howl at the grim-faced geezers as I drove by. A few minutes later, as I was checking into my hotel, I observed Louisville’s Archbishop Kurtz ask the desk clerk for the location of a conference room reserved by Lexington’s Bishop Gainer; it’s good to know these two sensible, orthodox bishops apparently compare notes from time to time. The local Courier Journal covered the nun-sensical protest (and includes a video in the story):

