I guess I should explain myself a bit. As a product of the 70’s (rock and roll), I have been through the mill with the changes and “improvements that the Mass and the church in general has gone through.

Egypt is a small country parish, smallest in the diocese in fact, my family has deep roots here, the church is built on the original home farm of my great great grandfather, and the convent that used to stand next door was also on donated land from my family.

my First Communion, St Joesph, Egypt
3 of the guys were gone before graduation

I remember the Latin mass as a child, my first communion was at a Latin Mass, I served my first year at Latin Mass, however at that time I was on Ritalin so my memories are foggy at best.

Then the fun started, hip mass, folk mass, hootenanny mass, you name it mass. At the death of a friend and classmate we all sat around the altar on the floor. sing your heart out to a tone deaf guitarist, the screeching cat quartets, been there done that, sick of it. By the time I was out of High School, I quit going except for Christmas and Easter.

I credit my return to church to my now wife, a Methodist at the time, who converted for our wedding and actually got me to return and examine My faith, sometimes to her chagrin, ( I have a long way to go)

Now here I am in my 50’s and sick of the mess. For some reason I find it jarring, the organ butting in with the Holy Holy or something else, I don’t know, it seems fake anymore, we are to be praying the mass with the priest and here comes another blast of a show tune, the only thing missing is someone up front announcing “everyone sing!” (don’t give anyone ideas) I suppose if the mass was chanted and the responses likewise it would seem seamless instead of so choppy to me.

Please Fr Fox don’t get me wrong It’s not  that I don’t like music it’s just that I am starting to value silence more.

As an aside, since the accidental death of my youngest son 8 years ago, at the age of 3, an accident of my own fault, I have lost any real desire to sing, I used to be asked to join the choir,  but the desire is gone, and there is very little I like to sing in church anymore anyway. So maybe it is just me

