At this point, with three active lawsuits against the Archdiocese of Cincinnati by former and soon-to-be-former archdiocesan schoolteachers for being terminated due to publicly dissenting from Church teaching, I’m hoping superintendent Dr. Jim Rigg and Archbishop Dennis M. Schnurr are paying attention to the screening that should take place during the interview phase, rather than merely the compliance that takes place during the employment phase:

About to be fired as assistant principal at Purcell Marian High School, Mike Moroski says he doesn’t regret voicing his support of gay marriage on his blog.

The Archdiocese of Cincinnati placed Moroski on administrative leave Feb. 4 and plans to fire him, Moroski said. He says he has hired a lawyer.

Moroski refused to take down his statements on the blog.

“I believe in Catholicism,” Moroski said in an interview. “But my conscience will not permit me to recant my statement.

“I put it up there because I really truly honestly believe it,” he added. “I’m absolutely willing to lose my job over this. The only difficult thing for me now is the students.”

Moroski, 34 who is married and lives Downtown, acknowledges that he violated the Archdiocese’s social media policy.

The contract he signs every year also requires him to “comply with and act consistently in accordance with the stated philosophy and teachings of the Roman Catholic Church.”

Moroski said he “knew the statement I was making was not in accordance with Roman Catholic beliefs,” but he does not think he violated the contract because he was following his conscience.

If they’re looking for a place to start screening, they might place a red flag here:

“[Moroski] moved to Cincinnati in 1997 to attend Xavier University, where he earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees.

