All the “good guys” are for it and all the “bad guys” are against it. I just can’t get over the feeling that this is a trap.

School, church officials praise Indiana court decision to uphold state’s voucher program

The biggest problem I have is that when one starts accepting money from the government then the government can dictate how it has to be spent. We already have a state superintendent that is against it but vows to administer it “faithfully” (ironic choice of words). We won’t always have the same Governor. What happens when Catholic schools are dependent on this money and the state starts telling them what they can and can not use the money for? I pray that doesn’t happen, but I’m not optimistic.

Another problem I have with this is that the spokesman for all things officially Catholic in this state not only has officially stated that the primary goal of catholic (from this point on it will be a small “c” for catholic in front of “schools”) schools is not the promotion of the faith but the “education” of  students. I realize in actuality this has been the case and attitude of catholic schools for some time. Now it is official. He not only states it, he seems to laud it.

The things people do and say for money never ceases to amaze me.

 

 

