Sean Ater, the director of the recently created Office of the New Evangelization for the Archdiocese of Cincinnati, begins his review for the Catholic Telegraph of Fr. Bob Hater’s new book on the history (and future) of catechesis, with a pop quiz. I know nothing of Fr. Hater (or his book), but Sean’s review does have me curious. Here’s the quiz:

Pop quiz: How would you describe your childhood religious education experience? (Circle the one that applies.)

a. You dare people to ask you “Why did God make you?” Your answer will forever be, “God made me to know Him, to love Him, and to serve Him in this world, and to be happy with Him forever in the next.”

b. Rainbows, sunshine and collages, that is all I remember…and that God loves me no matter what.

c. My religion textbook was really good, but my teacher was really bad. We mostly just read straight from the book.

d. My parents signed me up, but I rarely went, I had to get to soccer practice.

